Rejoice Always!

This week has been very hard for me.  Yesterday morning our internet was turned off as well as our phone line.  We were planning on switching our phones to run through the internet using a “Magic Jack“.  Apparently the phone and internet company got confused.  Instead of simply turning off our phone line they turned off our internet as well.  And they won’t turn them on again until Friday evening…

If you are reading this before Friday then I am writing you from our local library.

I use the internet multiple times each day.  I check and write e-mail, blog, listen to the radio, listen to songs on Youtube and Spotify, do language studies and reviews on livemocha, facebook, communicate with friends, etc.

The second hard thing is that my best friend (and her family — my 2nd family) may be looking for a new church.  That means I may no longer see them every week on Sunday. 😦  Just writing this down makes me get all emotional and sad again.  I know that we don’t chose a church simply for its members, but possibly losing my friend(s) is very hard.  (You choose a church based on if it is a Bible based church, if it gives the salvation message without dumbing down sin and hell, if the people are friendly, etc.)

Because of these disappointments I’ve been moody, angry, and frustrated.  Today I realized something.  My joy and happiness should not depend upon my circumstances or environment.

“10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.” (Psalm 51:10-12)

“111 Your statutes are my heritage forever;
they are the joy of my heart.” (Psalm 119:111)

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10 If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.” (John 15:9-11)

“2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds,..”
(James 1:2)

“16 Be joyful always; 17 pray continually; 18 give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

We are called to be joyful always, in every circumstance.  Why?  Because Jesus has conquered death for us and we have salvation through Him.  We can have joy even in the tough or mundane, because we know He has rescued us, and once our life journey on earth has ended a new and eternal journey will begin in heaven.

I want to challenge you to take whatever situations you are facing and meet them with joy.

“10 …, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10b)

“4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” (Philippians 4:4)

4 Comments

  1. Stephanie G. said,

    May 10, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Such a good reminder Elizabeth! If we let our circumstances determine our mood, we will be tossed around like the waves. Happy, sad, happy, sad! Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Nate Roll said,

    May 12, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Good job! Keep pressing toward the upward call of Christ! Praying for you. -Nate. R. Psalms 40,42;43

  3. Melanie said,

    June 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Thank you for reminding me of the truth that is in Jesus Christ Elizabeth, God bless you!

  4. June 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    […] children who are close friends to all of us.  (This is not the same family as the one mentioned here.)  It is so painful losing close friends from church.  Of course they will remain our good […]


Please share your thoughts

