Two Days Until My Trip!! ^_^

Only two (2) days left until my trip to Ukraine!!  I’ve started counting down the hours. 😀

The past nights I have been unable to sleep because my brain has been preoccupied with thoughts of Ukraine.  I keep going through different scenarios in my head and thinking up phrases I can say in Russian (with my small Russian lexicon).  It’s a fun thing to do, except for when it’s twelve (or later) in the morning.  :p

Today I began to pack my suitcase and my carry on bags (1 handbag and 1 carry-on).  We finished all our laundry today so that I could pack my clothes, weigh my bag, and make final decisions about what to place in each bag.

I could not find the postcards I had planned to take.  I immediately began hunting for them while praying to God for help remembering where I had put them.  It’s very common for me to place something where it does not belong and promptly forget where I put it.

After fruitlessly searching (and cleaning) behind my bed and the piles of books and papers on my floor, I decided to call my teacher.  I remembered showing her the postcards at my last Russian lesson.  She could not find them with her materials, but she promised to continue looking.

As soon as I said ‘bye’ to her, I remembered that I had also taken some pictures to show her and that, after showing her both the pictures and the postcards, I had put them away together.  Praise the Lord!!  I found them!!  🙂

The problem is now averted and my beautiful state postcards will be making the trip with me.

Last night it hit me that I’ll be flying alone (for my first 2 flights) and I’ll have to find everyone by myself.  I am able to do all that, of course, it’s just a new responsibility and challenge.  Also, it means I cannot let myself get distracted while finding where I need to be.

I plan to take many pictures of my flight and keep a journal to update you all when I return.

Here are some pictures of two more bags I’ve made (I’m finishing my 4th bag now, and hope to make a 5th one before I leave on Thursday).

Bag 2A (side 1)

Bag 2A (side 1)

Bag 2A (side 2)

Bag 2A (side 2)

Bag 2B (side 1)

Bag 2B (side 1)

Bag 2B (side 2)

Bag 2B (side 2)

Bag 3A (side 1)

Bag 3A (side 1)

 

Bag 3A (side 2)

Bag 3A (side 2)

 

Bag 3B (side 1)

Bag 3B (side 1)

 

Bag 3B (side 2)

Bag 3B (side 2)

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    September 4, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    So excited for you, Elizabeth! We will be praying for you.


Please share your thoughts

